Testimonials

Angies list 1angies list 2

The following are review copies or go directly to their website   Page Of Happiness Nominee

Review Date: January 13, 2015

Fred V Geiger Jr
37390 Giles Road
Grafton, OH 44044-9130

Work Completed Date: January 12, 2015

Hire Again: Yes
 
Description Of Work:
They installed a Generac 14,400KW generator on May 22 2014. They did an excellent job & cleaned up well afterward. We have not lost electric since then so generator has not been used yet.
Overall A
Price B
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

Review Date: October 23, 2014

Diane Chonko
12300 Lyndway Dr
Valley View, OH 44125

Services Performed: Generator

Work Completed Date: October 20, 2014

Hire Again: Yes

Description Of Work:
Generac generator installed pad and leveled, tune up, oil change, winter service. Took the time to explain, felt they were experts in their field.

Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

 

 

Review Date: May 05, 2014

Tom Judson
9509 Brimfield Dr.
MENTOR, OH 44060

Category: Generator

Work Completed Date: April 08, 2014

Hire Again: Yes

Approximate Cost: $2,000.00

Description Of Work:
Shepp Electric (Generator Pros) installed 2 power inlets for my portable generator. One at the front of my home in the garage and one near the transfer switch on the back of my home. Also installed a surge protector in my breaker box and replaced my very rusty meter box. Now I can use one power cord (generator to power inlet) to power my home during outages and not run a bunch of electric cords from outside, through an open door and all over my interior floors.

Member Comments:
The whole process from Craig Shepp's visit to my home for a price quote to the installation was perfect. Mr. Shepp takes his time and listens very well and came up with some additional ideas that I liked and included in my job. I had quotes from 3 other nearby Generac dealers, but Craig's quote and responsiveness sealed the deal. Not only was he the best price, but he was able to get the install scheduled  in half the time of the others. One other Generac dealer was very slow to respond to my calls and another did not respond at all when I asked for a 2nd qoute on a smaller set-up. The two installers from Shepp were promptly on time and worked like the pros they are, like clockwork. It took the 2 men one full day to complete my fully professional installation that I am totally satisfied with and I am very picky about what I pay for. I can whole heartily recommend Shepp Electric Generac Power Systems.

Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

Review Date: February 04, 2014

Chris Sams
32562 Belle Rd
AVON LAKE, OH 44012

Work Completed Date: January 01, 2013

Hire Again: Yes

Member Comments:
My experience went very well. The staff was very professional and knowledgeable int their field. The pricing was reasonable and I was pleased with the outcome of the service. I would recommend this company to others.

Share on Band of Neighbors: Yes

Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

Review Date: January 10, 2014

Robert Scott
17370 Curry Ln
CHAGRIN FALLS, OH 44023

Hire Again: Yes

Description Of Work:  Installed a new (first time) whole-house generator

Member Comments:
Installer arrived on time and got right to work on the electrical installation. He was later joined by two co-workers who handled the plumbing and prepared the site for the pad to hold the generator. The three installers worked in unison and were very competent. The generator was tested and the sound level was quite acceptable. They finished the job in one day and cleaned up after themselves. They didn't even seem to mind that the temperature was below freezing on the day of installation. They relit all of our pilot lights and, surprisingly, even reset our appliance clocks. They even spray-painted the outside pipes to match our house foundation. They take pride in their work. This family-owned and -operated company is highly recommended.

Overall 
Price 
Quality 
Responsiveness 
Punctuality 
Professionalism 

Review Date: November 25, 2013

Douglas Friedt
728 Tioga Trail
Willoughby, OH 44094

Hire Again: Yes

Installed a Generac 11kw generator with automatic transfer switch and gas supply line.

Member Comments:
Excellent. Craig Shepp was very prompt with quote and the price was way better than a competitor. Technicians were prompt and knowledgable and did a very nice job. They kept me informed throughout the install and even worked around a service call from AT&T by coordinating with the tech when they would shut the power off. Only issue was orientation of generator, had to cut down a small tree (very unhappy wife) because the way Craig told me they would put it violated the building code. Very neat install, painted gas line, cleaned up (including taking the tree they cut down), gave me good instructions on the operation. I had trouble locking lid, they sent someone back out to adjust the lid. Now, all we need is a power outage! I certainly would recommend them without reservation. Just confirm location of generator conforms to the code, I am still "in trouble" over the tree!

Share on Band of Neighbors: Yes 

Overall 
Price 
Quality 
Responsiveness 
Punctuality 
Professionalism 

Additional Questions Answered when completing this review

How much did the final cost compare to the original estimate? right on

How does the value of the work compare to the price? I got more than my money's worth

How far in advance did you schedule the work? more than 2 weeks

Did you find the company through Angie's List? yes

If yes, which source(s)? website

Why did you choose this contractor? reputation

Have you used this company before? this is the first time I've used this company

What did you like most about this contractor? Prompt, fair price, quality work, good follow up.

What did you like least about this contractor? Nothing really

What surprises came up during the course of the work? Nothing

What words of advice would you give other members considering this contractor? Nothing I can think of

What words of advice would you give this contractor? Keep up the quality work, hard to find contractors who have pride in their work


Review Date: October 29, 2013

SUSANN THOMPSON
7315 Johnston Dr.
Novelty, OH 44072

Hire Again: Yes

Description Of Work: installed Generac Generator

Member Comments:
Shepp called to install the generator in August, but we were to be on vacation that week.  They rescheduled for September, arrived in the morning and one man worked all day to install.  The installation was exactly as proposed.  I was given a short course in maintenance and all debris was taken away.  We had a 2 day power outage this week.  The generator kicked in and we had heat, lights and water.  very happy with the product and service.

Share on Band of Neighbors: Yes 

Overall 
Price 
Quality 
Responsiveness 
Punctuality 
Professionalism 

Review Date: September 16, 2013

larry lawson
6429 carolyn dr
MENTOR, OH 44060

Work Completed Date: November 12, 2012

Hire Again: Yes

Description Of Work: 

hooked up generator.ran wired through attic and hooked up to fuse box.

Member Comments:
No problems,Signed up for maintenance agreement where they change the oil and to check system for on foreseen problems.

Overall 
Price 
Quality 
Responsiveness 
Punctuality 
Professionalism 

Review Date: September 15, 2014

GEORGE PINKAS
25851 MELIBEE DR
WESTLAKE, OH 44145

Work Completed Date: July 16, 2014

Hire Again: Yes

Description Of Work: They installed a 14KW Generac backup generator

Member Comments:
It went great; they had three guys come out here and got it done in one day. They completed job was done beautifully

Share on Band of Neighbors: Yes

Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

Review Date: September 09, 2013

Sabry Ayad
29105 King Arthur Court
WESTLAKE, OH 44145

Hire Again: Yes

Description Of Work: install generator

Member Comments:
crew efficient

Overall 
Price 
Quality 
Responsiveness 
Punctuality 
Professionalism 

Review Date: May 07, 2013

Tom Kennedy
636 Howe Ave
ERIE, PA 16511

Hire Again: Yes

Description Of Work: 

Two installers arrived about 9:30. They extended gas line across basement to out to generator. they installed new electrical box in basement leaving just the A/C on the old box. They installed pad outside and placed the generator on it.  They let me know when they needed to cut power to the house for switchover. They had everything installed and demonstrated a test run for me, answered my few questions and were on their way by 3:00. They swept up the basement when finished.

Member Comments:
Very well. We met first in December with a planner who determined what size generator we needed. He showed us where they would place the new gas line and utility box and where the pad would go outside. Installation was about six weeks later. We have had no problems.
Shepp is very busy, especially in the first months after Hurricane Sandy.  It took several weeks for someone to call us back after my first inquiry and then again after the planning session.
The new generator looks nice in the back yard next to the A/C unit
except that the gas line extended from the house to the generator rusted
quickly in the winter weather.

Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness B
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

Review Date: April 24, 2013

BRUCE UHLAND
8675 HICKORY HOLLOW DR.
CHARDON, OH 44024

Hire Again: Yes

Description Of Work: Install Generac home standby 9/10 kW generator.

Member Comments:
Based on Angies List reviews, I got quotes from the two local comapnies that had "A" ratings on Angies List.The first quote came from the other company.  They were a little more expensive for the basic generator but had a cheaper option if I wanted to try to run the AC also.  Since my goal was to provide backup power to my house so that I could power the bare necessities.  I have a well so my goal was to be able to have water, power the sump pump, keep our two refrigerators running and power the furnace.  Gary came out from Shepp Electric and gave me a quote.  Not only was he a little cheaper, he included  a whole house hookup while the other comapny only gave me 12 circuits.  The only thing that is not hooked in is the AC.
Due to the surge in business they had due to Hurricane Sandy, both companies were very busy.  It was about six weeks from the time I paid my deposit for the unit to be installed.  The crew came out and installed the unit in about 5-6 hours.  The power was only off for a short time while they hooked into our breaker box.  When they were done, they cleaned up and tested the unit.  They also went over the operation of the unit.
Make sure you use the coupon from Angies List.

Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

Review Date: February 25, 2013

ROGER CARR
2576 DODD RD
WILLOUGHBY, OH 44094

Work Completed Date: October 25, 2012

Hire Again:Yes

Description Of Work: They put a new electric board into the house, also performed electrical repairs.

Member Comments:
The technician (charlie) was very good and knew what he was doing.

Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

Review Date: February 05, 2013

David Bailey
4530 Rambler Dr
MENTOR, OH 44060

Hire Again: Yes

Had a generator installed 3 plus years ago from this company. Smooth intsallation. Excellent follow up with questions. Had to have it checked once because it would not start. That day someone was sent out to check it. Was a simple loose wire. They come out yearly on our service contract and check the unit out. Excellent service from these guys!

Member Comments:
Excellent.

Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

Review Date: November 12, 2012

Linda Ferrato
9515 Catalpa Circle
Mentor, OH 44060

Hire Again: Yes

Wonderful Service - bought their service contract.  Had them service in 2012 - prompt and efficient

Member Comments:
Great

Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

Review Date: November 11, 2012

Gregg Strong
30 Wilding Chase
Chagrin Falls, OH 44022

Hire Again: Yes

The company performed our annual generator maintenance. They were punctual and did the work as required. They deferred some work that was not required which saved us some money.

The maintenance was straight forward and went well.

Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

Review Date: October 14, 2011

Paul Mele
8385 Tulip Lane
Chagrin Falls, OH 44023

Hire Again: Yes

Description Of Work: Installation of whole house standby generator with transfer switch.

Came out the day after a heavy rain and worked hours in the mud to install the unit.  The installers were friendly and answered all questions.  The office is not always available to answer the phone, but they do get back to you within a reasonable amount of time.  They are authorized sales and service dealer for Generac which helped us make the decision to use them.

Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

Review Date: October 07, 2011

Linda Ferrato
9515 Catalpa Circle
Mentor, OH 44060

Hire Again: Yes

We had bought a generator from Costco at a fantastic price.  We contacted Shepp Electric to install it.  They came out and quoted us what it would cost to install the generator and connected it to our gas line. They were out the next week after we approved their estimate as well as their recommendation to a better switch box (took the one that came with the unit and credit us where we only had to pay the difference).  Installation was 95% completed that day - we have a hot tub which could not be put on the generator and they needed to order a relay switch to by pass the unit.  However, that came in the next week and the job was completed. 

They also adjusted the quote (lower) because they found they did not have to do the normal digging and laying of the gas pipe because the person who installed out gas grill used the size of pipe (very unusual but the guy worked for the gas company and anticipated future uses) that is needed to run to the generator.

Member Comments:
We highly recommend this company.  The service of installation was top notch, their employess are professional and courteous.  We had a few issues but when you call them, you get an actual human being.  They were out at our home that day each time we called (one of the issues was not the unit or installation but of First Energy!).

Overall A
Price A
Quality A
Responsiveness A
Punctuality A
Professionalism A

Review Date: March 10, 2005

D WYNNE
13030 MANOR DRIVE
CHARDON, OH 44024

Hire Again: No

REQUESTED ESTIMATE ON ATTIC FAN REPAIR OR REPLACEMENT AND ESTIMATE ON UPGRADE TO 200 AMP SERVICE TO HOME.

I DO NOT RECOMMEND SHEPP ELECTRIC. I HAD TO CALL FOUR TIMES TO GET ANYONE TO RETURN MY CALL (ON THE LAST CALL I SAID I GUESS YOU DON'T WANT MY BUSINESS AND THEN GOT A CALL BACK). WE SETUP A DATE AND TIME FOR SHEPP TO INSPECT MY HOME TO ESTIMATE THE JOB. I LEFT WORK EARLY AND MADE A 75 MINUTE COMMUTE ON THE DAY OF THE APPOINTMENT. NO ONE FROM SHEPP'S EVERY SHOWED. THE NEXT DAY SHEPP CALLED ME AT WORK MID-MORNING AND ASKED IF ANYONE WAS AT MY HOME FOR THEM TO LOOK OVER THE JOB (NO ONE WAS). SHEPP OFFERED NO APOLOGY FOR MISSING THE PREVIOUS DAY'S APPOINTMENT. IN FACT NEVER BROUGHT IT UP. I WENT WITH ANOTHER COMPANY, AS I DID AT MY OLD HOUSE.

Company Response:
Well, there are two sides to every story. Frankly, I am very glad that he called another company. In the month of March, generator system emergencies are quite common. Since we service many police, 911's, nursing homes and fire departments, these will always take priority over a simple electrical repair. We always make every attempt to return calls and leave messages. I personally have made dozens of calls to clients, leave messages and then receive a response that they did not receive them. That's technology for you.

Best regards,
Craig Shepp, Owner

Overall F
Price N/A
Quality N/A
Responsiveness F
Punctuality F
Professionalism F

Review Date: January 10, 2014

Robert S
CHAGRIN FALLS, OH 44023

Hire Again: Yes

Description Of Work: Installed a new (first time) whole-house generator

Installer arrived on time and got right to work on the electrical installation. He was later joined by two co-workers who handled the plumbing and prepared the site for the pad to hold the generator. The three installers worked in unison and were very competent. The generator was tested and the sound level was quite acceptable. They finished the job in one day and cleaned up after themselves. They didn't even seem to mind that the temperature was below freezing on the day of installation. They relit all of our pilot lights and, surprisingly, even reset our appliance clocks. They even spray-painted the outside pipes to match our house foundation. They take pride in their work.

This family-owned and -operated company is highly recommended.


 

Cities in Ohio Served:
Cleveland, Mentor, Willoughby, Madison, Painesville, Geneva, Ashtabula, Conneaut, Akron, Youngstown, Medina, Avon, Avon Lake, Bay Village, Westlake, Rocky River, Akron, Warren, Cortland

Counties in Ohio Served:
Lake County, Geauga County, Summit County, Cuyahoga County, Ashtabula County, Trumbull County, Portage County, Lorain County, Mahoning County, Medina County

Cities in Pennsylvania:
Erie, Sharon, Meadville, Girard, Linesville, Hermitage

Counties in Pennsylvania Served:
Erie County, Mercer County, Crawford County